Searching for the Exceptional

Exceptional People to Get Recognition

Who would you nominate?

Nominations are ongoing for one prestigious award in Monroe - Teacher of the Year -   and deliberations are underway on nominations already submitted for another - Monroe’s Citizen of the Year.

Jack Zamary, Ed.D. Assistant Superintendent of Monroe public Schools has sent a notice out to staff, parents and students to submit nominations for the 2018-19

Monroe Teacher of the Year. They are asked to describe the ways in which the nominee

Specific examples or stories of the nominee in action are encouraged.

Nominations must be received by Zamary’s office  by Friday, March 30.  Masuk High School was named a National Blue Ribbon School in 2015.

For a Teacher of the Year nomination form  Click Here.  

Citizen of the Year

A committee representing a cross-section of community life in Monroe is now deliberating over nominations submitted by the Feb. 2 deadline for Monroe’s Outstanding Citizen for 2018. The award is intended to recognize the achievements of those who make a difference in the community because they believe in giving back selflessly and helping those in need.

Among the criteria to be applied:

  • Outstanding achievement
  • Exceptional volunteerism
  • Humanitarian service
  • Lifetime distinction
  • Act(s) of courage
  • Philanthropic activities
  • Raising the profile/image of Monroe

The award is administered through the first selectman’s office and is to be presented at a Town Council meeting May 14. At that time a video profile of the honoree is to be premiered and a one-of-a-kind award to be unveiled. A reception open to the public precedes the presentations. 

Judges are from local organizations and public service entities.    

  • Monroe Historical Society, Vic Casaretti,  president           
  • Monroe Senior Citizen Center, Paul Lesko         
  • Edith Wheeler Memorial Library, Lorna Rhyins, adult services librarian
  • Monroe Arts and Culture Council, Monroe Economic Development Commission, Dona Verdisco
  • WMNR Fine Arts Radio, Fred Velardi, Jane Stadler
  • Monroe Police Department, Chief John Salvatore  
  • Monroe Farmers’ Market: Amy Primorac
  • Monroe Chamber of Commerce: Ray Giovanni, president
  • Frank Bent, Monroe Lions Club, president
  • Historian: Kevin Daly
  • Member-at-large: Marven Moss

The Leprechauns are coming.

Follow the Green Balloons March 17.

Monroe’s Top Teachers for the Last Five Years

2017       Peter Schmitt, (Right) a Science Teacher at Masuk, was hired in Monroe in 1989

2016       Jennifer Parsell, at the time, was Monroe’s  Special Education Teacher & Transition Specialist.  Currently, she is Secondary Instruction Leader (SIL) for Special Education. She was hired in Monroe in 2016.

2015       Christine Scarpati, an Elementary Art Teacher at Fawn Hollow, was hired in Monroe in 2003

2014       Nancy Zukowski, a Mathematics Teacher at Masuk, was hired in Monroe in 1979

2013       Sharon McCauley, (Left) a Reading Teacher at Monroe Elementary, was hired in Monroe in 1992

Honored Citizens of Monroe

(From left) Enid Lipeles in 2013, Bernie Sippin in 2011, Deb Heim in 2015 and Karen Burnaska in 2012.                                          (From Left)  Nancy Zorena in 2016, Lee Hossler in 2017, and Diane Mellen in 2014.